International Tile Style – Hoi An and Cartagena

Buddhist Temple - Hoi An, Vietnam

I was just going through some of my vacation pictures and recognized a recurring theme… I love taking pictures of mosaic tile! Our offices are near Ann Sack’s warehouse in Portland and I always fantasize about breaking in and wandering around. Tile is practical (especially in wet, humid climates) but it can also be beautiful.

Below are some pictures I took in Hoi An and Cartagena. How great are these patterns?  Maybe one day I’ll have some on the floor of my beach house in SE Asia. A girl can always dream…

Elegant marble checkerboard in a museum in Cartagena, Colombia.
Floor of a courtyard townhouse in Hoi An, Vietnam.
Interesting circle tiles in a cafe in Cartagena, Colombia.
Another old tile floor in a townhouse in Hoi An, Vietnam.
Graphic floor of a restaurant in Cartagena, Colombia. The coconut rice was great too!
Leave a Reply

