Beginning a New Journey

For the last 6 years I’ve been dreaming about starting Wanderloot.com. What is Wanderloot, you might ask? Well, it started with an idea of selling things I find on trips overseas. My husband and I have a furniture business in Portland which requires frequent trips to Asia. Most of the stuff we shop for is traditional furniture. But I have a secret (and occasionally nagging) passion for traditional and ethnic items.

It started with the odd Mao tchotchke but over the years I’ve been travelling, I’ve gotten a better sense of what’s unique vs. the typical tourist fare you might find in Shanghai or Ho Chi Minh. I’ve also gotten better at bargaining (thanks to my husband’s mad skills). 

My goal is to launch Wanderloot.com within the next month or two. It will start with some cool pieces we’ve imported from Jodphur, India. My mission is to find one-of-a-kind, artisanal pieces which will bring a smile to your face, and a brightness to your house.

And by the way, I happened to Google “Wanderloot” and found that my made up name really isn’t so made up. James Joyce beat me to it in his novel “Finnegans Wake”.

Let Wanderloot.com begin…

Leave a Reply

